Home Biographies History Places Documents Letters Family Tree Misc. Contact NEW Blog


This letter was transcribed thanks to the considerable efforts of Wendy Jack. The footnotes were prepared by myself and then verified (and corrected or amplified) by Wendy. Many of the letters are the property of Betty Whiteside and/or Wendy Jack. Any researchers who wish to make further use of them should check with them first.
Sharon Oddie Brown, modified June 8, 2005


Derrivalley [1] 20th. Feby 1874


My Dear Sal [2]

          Maggy [3] is very anxious to have company but she does not consider that I may be lonely here  I was told by a young lady the other day that Maggy will soon be married.  I hope she will succeed in getting a young man that she will be very fond of  I know one if he was young, would fite very hard for her she is a great favourite with him   Do not be forming conjectures as you could have no [idea] of who it is.  I got no dress for you in Dundalk [4] as I saw none that would please me

    I believe Jack [5] intends going tomorrow to America [6]   I don't know particularly as he does not tell me any thing.  he gets advice from friend up in that [yeraster] which certainly to say the least of it is not friendly to me.  who they are particularly I do not know.  I suppose it will be as well to let Tom [7] go, if I can give him the money, as he is of no [????].  I inclose your letter from Newry [8] which I should have sent sooner, but I was vexed and weary about some things and neglected writing to you sooner.  I hope you will write and let me know when you intend to come home.

                                Ever your loving Father

                                        Thos McCullagh [9]

[1] Derrivally, Co. Monaghan – home of MCCULLAGH family.

[2] Sarah “Sallie” (McCullagh) Whiteside b. 1852

[3] “Maggie” – I haven’t a clue!

[4] Dundalk, Co. Louth

[5] John McCullagh (1847-1909), age 27. Died in USA.

[6] Sailed on Wednesday, February 25, 1874 to Liverpool and thence to the USA

[7] Thomas McCullagh, (1854 – 1920) age 20

[8] Newry, County Down.

[9] Thomas McCullagh  (1793-1877), father of “Sal” – the letter was written a month before his death.


Site Map | Legal Disclaimer | Copyright

© 2006-2023 Sharon Oddie Brown